Shaun, king of the Caucusas with $35 a day.

I awoke amidst a full-fledged blizzard and a bustling village. Georgia is an Eastern Orthodox Christian nation, so their Easter festivities are a week later than my familiar Western counterparts this year. Today is Palm Sunday and this place takes this day extremely seriously. The streets were filled with brush-bearing Georgians, parading between the three ancient churches in Telavi. I woke up to another fantastic feast and then joined the migration as an observer — albeit not a very discrete blonde one. However, my participation was greatly encouraged and I received many awards of approval. Couple my curiosity with aforementioned blondness and the fact that America has (for the most part) been a strong ally of Georgia, and you might begin to get a sense for how embracing these people are of me!

Returning to that feast, Svetlana prepared: two fried eggs, more fresh bread and yogurt, homemade cherry jam, a pot of coffee and a fried crepe filled with beans. These people would explode if they ate more than two meals a day!

I met Davit at 13:00 and he took me on a spectacular tour of some of this regions ancient sites. Cathedrals from the 5th and 6th centuries, medieval castles, and some of the oldest wine fields in the world — not bad for a country of five million with a befuddled history on the fringe of many of the world’s greatest empires. Davit is ridiculously knowledgeable, and I was able to fact check him a couple of times to prove that he wasn’t just talking out of his ass! Tomorrow, we are going to begin at 11:00 and do the wine tasting portion of the tour 🙂 He worked in the wine business for a few years, and has drunk enough wine for four lifetimes (as he likes to put it.) Spending $35 a day feels like splurging after my recent <$10 shenanigans, but it is money well spent. I am learning things that would otherwise be inaccessible and from which I will derive pleasure for the rest of my life.

To reiterate, this country’s history is unbelievably complicated. Its future is similarly enigmatic. However, its present certainly seems filled with hardship.

Leave a Reply

